March 14, 2021    
11:00 am - 5:00 pm


Abell Point Yacht Club
Abell Point Marina, Airlie Beach, QLD, 4802

Event Type

Map Unavailable

The “Warri Cup” is the major annual Club race, heading out from Airlie Beach to Langford Island and return (approx. 32 nautical miles).  It is also APYC’s oldest continuous race. There are three racing divisions: Multihull, Spinaker monohull and Non-Spinaker monohull.  Participating vessels are handicapped as appropriate according to race rules.
The “Warri “ was a local boat that Airlie local residents, Celia and Chris Taylor owned.  After Chris sadly passed away, Celia and the APYC decided to hold the “Chris Taylor” memorial race, a course around Langford Island and back. This course remains unchanged today.  The race name has morphed to become the “Warri Cup” and the trophy, which is actually a model of the Warri, was made by Celia and Chris’s friend,  Bill Gleeson.